» Home
» Services
» Event management accomplishments
» Marketing/
public relations
» Key

» 44th L.A. Invitational indoor track meet
» 2003 results
» Past champions
» The Legends Lane

Visit our Method Fest film festival site

2004 Los Angeles Invitational cancelled

LOS ANGELES (Dec. 12, 2003) - The 44th annual Los Angeles Invitational, the nation's second oldest indoor track meet, will not be held in 2004, Co-Chairmen Al and Don Franken announced today. The meet had been scheduled for Sunday, February 8, at the L.A. Sports Arena.

"It was not possible to secure sufficient sponsorship for the event," Don Franken said. "There is potential for a sponsor coming aboard to revive the event in 2005," he added.

The L.A. Invitational (known as Sunkist Invitational for 26 years, 1970-1995, inclusive), has been one of the premier board-track events since its inception in 1960.

A total of 105 Olympic gold medal winners have competed in the meet. Hall of Famers who have competed in the L.A. Invitational include Wilma Rudolph, Parry O'Brien, Kip Keino, Jim Ryun, John Walker, Eamonn Coghlan, Bob Hayes, Billy Mills, Marion Jones, Maurice Greene, Bob Beamon, Bob Seagren, Ralph Boston, Dwight Stones, Renaldo Nehemiah and Mary Decker Slaney.

Al Franken was co-founder of the event and remained at its helm for 43 years.